Arlene Dahl

arlene-dahl-3On Friday, November 11, 2016, my friend and I went to have lunch with Arlene Dahl. Okay, we didn’t exactly eat with her, but we did attend a luncheon where we got to meet and speak with her.

The 31st Annual Fort Lauderdale International Film Festival, which runs until November 20th, chose to honour Miss Dahl with a Lifetime Achievement Award.  After the luncheon–which was a lovely outdoor affair where champagne and smoked salmon were served followed by a chicken buffet lunch–the festival screened SLIGHTLY SCARLET, Toronto-born director Alan Dwan’s 1956 Technicolor film noir.  The film was introduced by film historian and author Foster Hirsch and afterwards he interviewed the quick-witted and positive-thinking 91-years-young, Arlene.  You can watch the interview here.

Arlene Dahl (1)

Following the interview, there was a meet and greet in the courtyard where I had a chance to tell Ms. Dahl that Adam and I had already had the opportunity to view a 16mm print of SLIGHTLY SCARLET at Cinevent 2016 this past June (which was a better print for sure than the DVD we watched in Fort Lauderdale).  When I told her that I had also seen her 1949 film SCENES OF A CRIME, she said, “Oh that one wasn’t that interesting.”  I responded with that although her role was more ordinary–as Van Johnson’s housewife–I still enjoyed the film quite a bit.  I also mentioned to her that Toronto Film Society will be screening SLIGHTLY SCARLET at our Sunday, April 2nd programme and wondered if she had any plans to be in Toronto during that time.  She responded with, “You never know.  I do travel quite a bit.”

Well, Arlene, if you are planning to be in Toronto at that time, please let me know.  Our audience would love to tell you how much they admire you!!!

Me and Ms. Dahl

Me and Ms. Dahl

You can read my review of SLIGHTLY SCARLET by clicking on the link and scrolling down to Friday, June 2, 2016.  It’s the fifth film of Day 2.

1 thought on “Arlene Dahl

  1. Pingback: Slightly Scarlet (1956) - Toronto Film Society - Toronto Film Society

Leave a comment